Duke of Edinburgh

dofebadge bronze

dofebadge silver

The Duke of Edinburgh's Award is a voluntary, non-competitive programme of practical, cultural and adventurous activities for young people aged 14-25.

The Award programme consists of three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. Each has differing criteria for entry and the level of achievement necessary to complete each award.

The Air Training Corps is the Commonwealth's largest and highest-achieving operator of the Duke of Edinburgh's Award. At any one time, there are 15,000 cadets participating in the scheme, and 3000 Air Cadets per year gain Gold, Silver and Bronze awards - in fact, the first ever recipient of the Gold Award was an Air Cadet!

His Royal Highness Prince Philip is the ATC's Air Commodore-in-Chief. Air Cadets who meet the age criteria can join the award scheme, and gain the badges shown to wear on their uniform.


dofebadge gold


Award Minimum
Expeditions Skills Physical
Bronze 14 3 months 2 days
(1 night)
3 months 3 months n/a
Silver # 15 6 months 3 days
(2 nights)
3/6 months * 3/6 months * n/a
Gold # 16 9 months 4 days
(3 nights)
6/12 months $ 6/12 months $ 5 days
(4 nights)



# If the previous award has not been completed, there must be an additional 6 months of Volunteering.

* Either 3 months Skills and 6 months Physical Recreation, or 6 months Skills and 3 months Physical Recreation.

$ Either 6 months Skills and 12 months Physical Recreation, or 12 months Skills and 6 months Physical Recreation.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site